School of Rock – Week 7 – Tools, Time, and Rooms

CreativeCommons image Tool Stash by Meena Kadri at Flickr.com

SUMMARY

  • Overall, the activities were fairly engaging. I enjoyed looking through Hooktheory and Soundtrap, and the freedom to just explore was nice.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

  • Learning Bass from MusicCollegeTV
  • The playlist seems to cover many areas that I’ll need to improve upon and seems promising.

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Image of Gordon Hempton
Image by Richard Darbonne, © All Rights Reserved.
  • Listened to Washingtonian Gordon Hempton’s interview: Silence and the Presence of Everything, https://onbeing.org/programs/gordon-hempton-silence-and-the-presence-of-everything/
  • This guy is a rather interesting person. The way he thinks about things is a different perspective I would not have thought of normally. I thought it was incredibly interesting when he mentioned that no creature on earth evolved to have earlids. That fact really showcases the importance of hearing.

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

  • Explored some songs at https://www.hooktheory.com/theorytab
  • The website was very interesting and I found great enjoyment in messing with all of the features of the song like tempo and key. I will most definitely be revisiting this site when learning new songs.

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • Went for a walk
  • When asked to think about my life as a narrative… I was a bit shocked. I had never really thought about my life as a story in any way, much less one with a coherent plot. Though it did remind me of this one time when talking to a friend. I was discussing some personal issues and hangups and said “dude you have like 4 character arcs ahead of you” which made me laugh, as that was a funny way of saying “you have a lot of emotional baggage my guy.”

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

CONTROL ROOM (RECORDING & MIXING)

  • Finished Soundtrap.com expert training

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *